SALES ❤️

Interviews

Jonathan Barfield « Playing basketball professionally was always my dream as a kid »

Jonathan Barfield 2

📚 The essential ebook for every 🏀 hooper

Can you introduce yourself?
My name is Jonathan Barfield. I was born and raised in Memphis Tennessee. I am 30 years old former Lambuth collegiate guard- Tennessee State University graduate. I averaged 10.0 ppg there. I received a bachelor in exercise science and masters in education/curriculum and instruction. I am currently residing in Nashville, Tennessee.

When and how did you start playing basketball?
I started playing basketball when I was seven years old. I started playing organized basketball at age 11 while in middle school. I come from an athletic background father, cousins uncles, etc played sports. All the guys in the neighborhood would come to my house and play ball during the summer. Playing basketball professionally was always my dream as a kid. I grew up watching Michael Jordan, Kobe Bryant and Allen Iverson.

Can you tell us more about your basketball path growing up to now?
There were obstacles and challenges I had to overcome from high to college. I was cut from my middle school and high school team 8th-10th grade year. I didn’t make an high school team until I was a junior in high school. I didn’t play very much in high school. I was always good friends with players that were high recruited. I started to attend camps for unsigned players during my senior year. My mother and grandmother hired me a basketball trainer in the city of Memphis. I would workout with him twice a week; while Maintaining my academics. I was offered a partial scholarship in the summer of 2008 from Lambuth University. Due to my extreme work ethic and willingness to learn and get better.

Jonathan Barfield 1How can you describe your game? What are your main strengths on the court?
I am a guard with an extreme work ethic. I can knock down the open three. I can also rebound and push the tempo. Good strength and conditioning. Can play defense at different angles. Works out four times a day. Good communicator with willingness to improve and get better.

Have you ever traveled abroad for basketball? If yes, can you describe your experiences?
I attended the Eurobasket camp June of 2020. I have offers to go abroad that I had to decline during the pandemic.

What kind of opportunity are you looking for?
I have offers to play overseas and semi professional. However, I am waiting until after the COVID pandemic to sign with a team. Also, my goal is to play in the NBA.

What do you expect from your pro basketball career overseas?
I want to be an unselfish player providing quality minutes; while putting the team and coaching staff in a position to be successful.

To conclude, do you have something else to tell?
I am currently a middle school and AAU basketball coach. Tennessee State University graduate. Elementary school site director overlooking before and after school programs. Former pre k and education specialist. I am currently training to fulfill my dream as a professional basketball player. I love to spend time with family and friends. I love travel and listen to music. I give to the homeless and less fortunate. I am the first person in family to receive a masters degree.

Highlights

Contact info

Email: barfield.Jonathan@yahoo.com
IG: Jonpablo901

⬇️ GO SHOPPING

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top