SALES ❤️

Interviews

Eric Anthony II: “Traveling abroad for basketball, that is my main focus right now”

Eric Anthony II

📚 The essential ebook for every 🏀 hooper

Can you introduce yourself?
My name is Eric Anthony II. I am 24 years old born and raised in Baltimore, Maryland. I attended Davis & Elkins College in West Virginia, where I started my college basketball career. I then transferred to The University of Maine at Presque Isle where I played Point Guard for the UMPI Owls my junior and senior year of college. I graduated May of this year (2020) and now currently looking to expand my basketball career by playing abroad.

When and how did you start playing basketball?
Coming from a basketball loving family, a hoop and a ball was never too far from me, either playing or watching it on TV. My parents are from Philadelphia and we would travel up there sometime to visit family and all I could remember was seeing Allen Iverson everywhere! A few times that we would visit, I would sit down with my family to watch how Iverson would play the game and it quickly grabbed my attention. So growing up as a kid I would always get in trouble with my parents for dribbling a ball all throughout the house until it eventually got to the point where my father got me a hoop for the backyard and it went up from there and I began to fall in love with the game. I would be outside for hours shooting and dribbling like my favorite players. My parents noticed that and took action to place me in a little league for kids.

Can you tell us more about your basketball path growing up to now?
My basketball path growing up was crazy but I wouldn’t have it any other way. I was surrounded by a bunch of family and friends that were always much older than I was, making me the smallest guy out there. My parents put me in a small AAU league at about 8 or 9 years old in different leagues around Maryland just getting me used to playing against different competition and gaining exposure. My AAU coaches seen early on that I was different than a lot of the other kids on the floor and took me in to train and develop me throughout my elementary years. I started varsity as a Freshman at Atholton Academy in Columbia Maryland where I stood out and began to draw attention to the school, make a name for myself, and meet/compete with a lot of great players from the state. I finished my High School career at Takoma Academy in Takoma Park, Maryland where we played some of the top competition in Maryland. After high school I committed to Davis & Elkins College in West Virginia where I would medical Red Shirt because of a season ending injury. With the help of the great coaches and pro trainers, I was able to rehab and bounce back and play like everyone was used to. At 5’10, I put on 15 pounds of muscle becoming 175 where I was able to add more strength to my game as a point guard. I was blessed with a chance from Head Coach Dan Kane from the University of Maine Presque Isle to showcase my game to play for his team. I finished my career there being a great offensive weapon for owls & 1 of 3 team captains.

“My main strengths on the court is my shooting, court vision, and working out of the pick and roll situation”.

How can you describe your game? What are your main strengths on the court?
As far as describing my game, I am a very explosive point guard that is pass first always looking to get my teammates involved and great at creating space to be able to create my own shot & being a pest on Defense. I’m a team player with heart and I am always ready to compete. My main strengths on the court is my shooting, court vision, and working out of the pick and roll situation.

Have you ever traveled abroad for basketball?
I have never traveled abroad for basketball, that is my main focus right now, is to make that happen.

What kind of opportunity are you looking for?
I am open for any opportunity that is given to me where my skill and talent will be able to help lead a team to a win, great coaching and player relationships, to fulfill my goal of being a professional basketball player for a club.

What do you expect from your pro basketball career overseas?
For my pro basketball career overseas I expect to gain experience and learn as much as I can from my coaches about the game and be able to always develop my mind and my game. I would also love to just be able to experience playing in a new environment as well as meeting the fans and people of that country.

To conclude, do you have something else to tell?
To conclude, I want to thank all of my family, friends, coaches and past teammates that are supporting me along my path, Thank You and you are appreciated!

Highlights

Email: ecanthonyii@gmail.com
Instagram: Loowie_V
FB: https://www.facebook.com/EricDahhKiiD11/
Twitter: Loowie_V

⬇️ GO SHOPPING

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top