SALES ❤️

USA

Elijah Woods: “Show that I can compete at the next level”

Elijah Woods

📚 The essential ebook for every 🏀 hooper

Can you introduce yourself?
My name is Elijah Woods, 23 years old. I am a 6’3 190 pound guard from Holland Michigan.

When and how did you start playing basketball ?
Both my mother and my older brother played, and were very good. As a toddler and growing up, basketball was all that I was around. I would go to my mother’s almamotorn where she would put me through form shooting, cone drills, and even have me do things with my left hand since I am right hand dominant. My mother also helped shape the leader that I am today. With her valued lessons and my hard work, I was blessed to be team Captain on every college team I was a part of. It was my brother who contributed to the mental side of the game. He taught me how to be quick and get to my spot, elevate on my jump shot, and be physical and strong when needed. For them I am thankful because that in itself set the groundwork for what I am, and thrive to achieve today.

Can you tell us more about your basketball path growing up to now?
God, Family, Basketball. As I got older my Faith in God got stronger, along with my love for basketball. I would dream of playing in the NBA, and having the ability to be the best player I could. My freshman year of High School began, and I was eager to play. However, that wasn’t the case and things flipped for me. I was cut from the basketball team and told I wouldn’t be any good. That BROKE me! In that moment I leaned on my Faith more than anything which led me to give it another try, despite the unfortunate results of the attempt I made the year before. But I was cut.. AGAIN! I did the same thing the following year. Although I made the team this year, I only played three minutes the ENTIRE season. That following summer I worked harder than ever. I got physically and menatlly stronger. I would study the game for hours on end. I’d watch videos on how Kobe Bryant dissect film and I would utilize those same skills. With my IQ tremendously expanding, the game became second nature to me. Senior year started and a number of different players experienced injuries. Unfortunately some of those players were in our starting lineup. Due to this I got my first REAL chance to show the skills I could display on the court. In my first game I scored fifteen points and from then it clicked that I could do it and simply needed an opportunity. After highschool I played my first year at Grand Rapids Community college, where I was blessed to be part of the starting five. That year was a great year as we ended the season as NJCAA D2 District IX Champions. My second year of college, I moved out of state and had the opportunity to play at Lakeland Community college in Cleveland OH. Lakeland was a true blessing and gave me the extra push to become what I am today. From the early morning individual shooting workouts where I had to make 500 shots, to the late night skills workouts after practice. This is where that love for basketball turned into a true desire to be as great as I possibly could. After Lakeland CC I took an offer from Wright State University- Lake Campus. There I started my last two years and was blessed to be able to earn my Bachelors degree in Psychology. After my first year here I played well and actually attended the Eurobasket Summer League in Chicago, where I averaged 6.3ppg, 3.8rpg, shooting 33.3% 3pt and 100% FT. Here I made some great connections. I returned to school for my last year and continued to develop my craft day in and day out trying to prepare myself for what God has in store for me next.

“I am a long and linky Guard, with a great feel for the game“.

How can you describe your game? What are your main strengths on the court?
I am a long and linky Guard, with a great feel for the game. I am a coachable leader, that leads by example. I am a good defender with my length and athleticism. I am also a good shooter, and very good at creating plays for myself and teammates off of penetration.

Have you ever traveled abroad for basketball?
No, but I’m excited to hopefully do so soon.

What kind of opportunity are you looking for?
I am looking for an opportunity to get my rookie season started, to learn from the coaches and to show that I can compete at the next level.

What do you expect from your pro basketball career overseas?
I honestly just want to play the game that I love at a high level and be the best player that I can be while learning from others every step of the way.

To conclude, do you have something else to tell?
I would like to let anyone out there, having a hard time or not, to never give up. If there is something that you want to do in your life, with prayer, hard work, and confidence in yourself there is no one or anything that can stop you.

Highlights

Email: elijahwoods9635@gmail.com
IG: woods_elijah35

⬇️ GO SHOPPING

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

To Top